



One Force, One Fight!

CONTACT: John Tongret at 706-626-1309; john.d.tongret.civ@mail.mil

Nate Snook at 706-545-2238; Nathan.a.snook.civ@mail.mil

MEDIA RELEASE: Fort Bliss team crowned best scout team

DATE: May 4, 2017

FORT BENNING, Ga. - The six Soldier team from 1st Squadron, 1st Cavalry Regiment from Fort Bliss are the winners of the 2017 William J. (Joe) Gainey Cup. The team is comprised of Staff Sgt. Eric Atkinson, Sgt. Zachary Diglio, Sgt. Joseph Main, Pfc. Timothy Wood, Pfc. Ryan French and Pvt. Jeremy Blevins.

The competition was hosted by the 316th Cavalry Brigade and Cavalry Scout Squads from across the Army formed six-man teams to compete for the title of Best Scout Team. Units participating this year included the 82nd Airborne Division, Fort Bragg, North Carolina; the Nevada Army National Guard; the 25th Infantry Division, Fort Shafter, Hawaii; the 10th Mountain Division, Fort Drum, New York; 1st Cavalry Division, Fort Hood, Texas; and Canada, among others.

-30-

For more Maneuver Center of Excellence news, visit:

www.benning.army.mil

Find us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/FortBenningMCoE/